Lisa M. Curtis, PhD (President-Elect)

Lisa M. Curtis, PhD is an Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Dr. Curtis received her formal education at the University of Florida (UF), receiving bachelor's degrees in Microbiology & Cell Science and in Chemistry, as well as a doctoral degree in Cell and Developmental Biology. Her doctoral research was conducted in the laboratory of Dr. Kirsten Madsen and, subsequently, in the laboratory of Dr. Stephen Gluck, both in the UF Division of Nephrology. Dr. Curtis continued her training with postdoctoral fellow positions with Dr. Edward Scott at UF, a second postdoctoral position in the laboratory of Dr. Chris Klug at UAB and a final postdoctoral training position in the laboratories of Dr. Paul W. Sanders in Nephrology at UAB. She subsequently transitioned to the faculty in Nephrology at UAB. During her postdoctoral tenure, Dr. Curtis served on the Board of Directors of the National Postdoctoral Association and held office in the UAB Postdoctoral Association. In graduate school, Dr. Curtis received a pre-doctoral grant from the American Heart Association, and during her postdoctoral training, Dr. Curtis was funded by Institutional T32 training grants. She has also been funded by a VA Career Development Award and is funded currently through the NIH on several collaborative grants. Her research is focused on understanding renal epithelial biology in acute kidney injury, with an emphasis on the differences in the pathophysiology of the kidney associated with female sex and aging. During her academic tenure, she has formally and informally mentored undergraduate, pre-medical and graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty. Dr. Curtis is active in committees of the American Society of Nephrology in the area of workforce development and serves as a leader of the ASN Community "Women's Health and Research". Dr. Curtis served as WIN Executive Council member (2014-2017) before assuming the position of President-Elect. She will be President of WIN in 2021-2022.