Natasha N. Dave, MD (Councilor Four)

Natasha N. Dave, MD is an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. After high school, she attended the American University of Antigua where she graduated from a combined medical school program. She completed her internal medicine residency training at Mount Sinai Hospital in Chicago and then completed her Nephrology fellowship and chief year at Baylor in Houston. Whilst in fellowship, she was nominated by her peers for the Baylor Women in Excellence award and wrote an article for American Society of Nephrology (ASN) Kidney News on illegal questions women asked during job interviews. This article was well circulated online and lead to an opportunity for her to host the first collaborative Women in Nephrology-Women in Medicine collaborative Twitter chat. Post-fellowship she joined Baylor and currently practices at the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center; where she is involved in a number of activities including a quality improvement (QI) project assessing the impact of a monthly telehealth clinic for rural chronic kidney disease patients.

Dr. Dave's other clinical and educational interests include mentorship, biotechnology, social media and as her Twitter profile (@NatashaNDave) suggests electrolytes. She is currently part of the adviser network for Texas Medical Innovation Institute where she interacts with digital health and medical device startup companies. Outside of the medical center, Dr. Dave is involved in a number of online projects and roles that begin after she completed a one year social media internship with the Nephrology Social Media Collective (NSMC). Some of these roles include being a faculty contributor for the Renal Fellow Network (RFN) and American Journal of Kidney Diseases (AJKD) blogs as well as partaking in social media committees with the ASN, NSMC, Nephrology Business Leadership University (NBLU) and Kidney Medicine journal. Dr. Dave will serve on the Executive Council of Women in Nephrology 2020-2023.