Ellie Kelepouris, MD (Senior Advisor)

Ellie Kelepouris, MD, is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. After earning a medical degree from the University Of Athens School Of Medicine in Athens, Greece, Dr. Kelepouris completed an internship in medicine and a residency in internal medicine at Mercy Catholic Medical Center in Darby, Pennsylvania, where she was chief medical resident in internal medicine. Dr. Kelepouris subsequently served both a clinical fellowship and an NIH sponsored research fellowship at the Renal and Electrolyte Section of the University Of Pennsylvania School Of Medicine in Philadelphia.

A principal investigator on many clinical studies, Dr. Kelepouris is currently focusing her research on treatment of nephrotic syndrome, chronic kidney disease, and parathyroid function and bone disease in patients on dialysis. She was recently awarded a 3 year grant from Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals to establish a patient registry for novel treatments of nephrotic syndrome. Dr. Kelepouris is a reviewer for a number of journals, including The Journal of Clinical Investigation, the American Journal of Kidney Diseases, and Kidney International. The author and coauthor of book chapters on various subjects in nephrology, she has also published many original papers, editorials, reviews, and abstracts.

Dr. Kelepouris is board-certified in internal medicine, with a subspecialty in nephrology. She is a Fellow of the American Heart Association, and until recently was the AHA Advocacy Ambassador to Capitol Hill. She is also a member of many other professional organizations, including the American College of Physicians, The American Society of Nephrology, and the National Kidney Foundation, where she serves as the chair of the Medical Advisory Board. Dr. Kelepouris is the recipient of many teaching awards, including the prestigious Christian and Mary Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, was named as one of America's Top Doctors in 2008 through 2014 and was elected to the AOA Honor Medical Society in 2012.